Missoni…

Another design house that I have long admired is Milan-based Missoni.

Founded in 1953 by Ottavio and Rosita Missoni, Missoni has gained notoriety for its knitwear and colourful patterns.  In the early 80’s, Missoni introduced a range of home furnishing fabrics which has continued to flourish.

I admire Missoni’s sense of fun, creativity, freedom.  In particular, their use of bold colours, stripes and incorporation of flora.

My favourite? Well, with my background in horticulture and my connection to nature, Passiflora just makes me smile every time I see it.

Missoni's Passiflora

Missoni’s Passiflora

Missoni's Passiflora

Missoni’s Passiflora

I found this video on Vimeo and for me it offers a strong sense of what the Missoni Brand embodies:

This clip, from FashionTV‘s coverage of Milan Design Week 2011, includes an interview with co-founder Rosita Missoni.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKxqyWeuuUw]

 

Missoni’s Home Collection Look Book can be checked out by clicking [here.]

Inspired!

Leave a Reply

